Dear user, You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web standards and poses a threat to your safety. For correct display of the site is recommended to install the latest version of any modern browser:

Прочитать в мобильной версии сайта

USD 72.32 ↓

EUR 86.32 ↑

25 June, Friday

Ufa   °

European Commission announces a competition for the Lorenzo Natali Prize


On World Press Freedom Day on May 3, the European Commission officially launched the Lorenzo Natali Prize for 2010. The international prize is awarded in partnership with Reporters Without Borders and the World Association of Newspapers to the best journalism on development, democracy and human rights.

The European Commissioner for Development, Andris Piebalgs, said: "Through the Lorenzo Natali Prize, the European Commission recognises journalists who contribute to the cause of development, democracy and human rights. Many work in what are often difficult conditions, but the light they shed on the realities on the ground is key to raising public awareness of the importance of development policy. That is why we wish to help them to continue providing information in the cause of combating poverty."

The Natali Prize is an international prize awarded each year since 1992 to the best journalistic work on development, democracy and human rights. It is open to journalists working in TV, radio, the press and online. In 2009, more than 1 000 journalists from 130 countries took part.

Interested journalists have until 31 August 2010 to apply (for more information you may visit

Prizes worth total 60,000 Euro will be awarded to 17 journalists in different sections: Europe, Arab World/Middle East, Africa, Asia and Latin America/Caribbean.

We would remind you that Lorenzo Natali (1922 — 1990) was a member of the European Commission. From 1976 to 1989, he was the vice-president of the Commission and was in charge of the questions of collaboration and development.

Lubov Kolokolova author: Lubov Kolokolova
Яндекс цитирования