13 March 2014, Thursday, 10:11

Kirill Mikhailov - Paralympic Games champion 2014

author: Dmitry Slezin

In Sochi, a final 1 km race in the ski sprint took place at the XI Winter Paralympics. The champion was Kirill Mikhailov, the representative of Bashkortostan.

He was only three tenths of a second ahead of another Russian Rushan Minnegulov. The bronze award also went to the representative of Russia Vladislav Lekomtsev.

This is the second "gold" of Bashkortostan at the Paralympics 2014. The first gold medal was won by Azat Karachurin, the countryman of Mikhailov.  At this distance Karachurin stopped at a semi-final stage.