29 December 2011, Thursday, 14:13

One metropolitan's province and two new eparchies are established in Bashkiria

author: Eugene Rakhimkulov

The metropolitan's province of Bashkortostan and two new eparchies of the Russian Orthodox Christian Church in Neftekamsk and Salavat are established on the territory of Bashkiria. The corresponding decision was made by the Holy Synod in Moscow, Ufa Eparchy press-service reported to "Bashinform".

The eparchy in Neftekamsk is established on the territory of 26 Republican regions and covers the north, the northeast and the west of Bashkiria. The eparchy in the town of Salavat is established on the territory of 20 southern and southwestern regions of Bashkiria.

Ufa eparchy remains the smallest on the territory RB and it covers just several central regions and two biggest cities — Ufa and Sterlitamac. All three eparchies are united into one metropolitan's province with the archbishop of Ufa and Sterlitamac Nikon at the head.

themes: religion