Dear user, You are using an outdated browser that does not support modern web standards and poses a threat to your safety. For correct display of the site is recommended to install the latest version of any modern browser:

Прочитать в мобильной версии сайта

USD 66.92

EUR 76.07

10 December, Monday

Ufa   °

Ex-teacher of Bashkir State University awarded Wolf Prize in Mathematics


UFA, 19 February 2018. /Bashinform News Agency, Alim Faizov/.

New winners of the Wolff Prize — one of the most prestigious in the world are announced. In the section of mathematics, the prize was presented to the former Ufa native Vladimir Drinfeld and Alexander Beilinson, working together in Chicago (USA). This is reported by the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine.

The only Ufa mathematician who became the owner of the Fields Medal and the Wolf Prize, Vladimir Drinfeld was born in 1954 in Kharkov. He studied at Moscow State University, graduated from it at the age of 20, and defended his thesis by 23 years. In Ufa he taught mathematics in 1978-1981 at Bashkir State University.

In 1986, after the report at the Mathematical Congress in Berkeley, the name of Vladimir Drinfeld became widely known in the scientific community. Nine years after his departure from Ufa, in 1990, he was awarded a Fields medal, and in 1992 he was elected a corresponding member of the National Academy of Sciences. Since 1999 he lives and works in Chicago.

Biographical note about the scientist is available in the Bashkir encyclopedia.

The Wolf Award is given annually since 1978 in six categories: agriculture, chemistry, mathematics, medicine, physics and art. At the moment, 329 prize winners were awarded.

Яндекс цитирования
Рейтинг ресурсов "УралWeb"